New Jersey 2021 General Election Results

New Jersey 2021 General Election Results
Nov 03, 2021

On Tuesday, November 2, 2021, the race for New Jersey’s next Governor is still too close to call with numbers shifting hourly to now about 15,000 votes currently dividing incumbent Governor Phil Murphy and Republican and former Assemblyman Jack Ciattarelli.  Murphy holds the lead, but there are early in-person, vote-by-mail and provisional ballots still to be counted in several districts.  The new gubernatorial term begins on January 16, 2022.   
In addition to the Governor, all 120 seats in the Legislature were up for election.  The Democrats retained control of both houses, however, there are a few races that still remain close.  As a result, stay tuned for continued updates and changes to the results reported here. 

Currently, the Democrats hold significant majorities of 25-14 in the Senate and 52-28 in the Assembly.  In the wake of Tuesday’s election, Republicans appear to have picked up at least one seat in the Senate (in District 8) and possibly between six and eight seats in the Assembly (Districts 2, 11, 16), so we could see the Democratic majorities in both houses slip beyond 24-16 in the Senate and 44-36 in the Assembly.  Click here for biographies of the new legislators thus far.

The lame duck session will now start and continue through the new session beginning on January 11, 2022.  Leadership in both houses is expected to be decided in the coming days with Senator Loretta Weinberg retiring at the end of this term, Assembly Minority Leader Jon Bramnick moving up to the Senate and Senator Tom Kean leaving the Legislature to run for Congress.  It is anticipated that Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin and Majority Leader Lou Greenwald will retain their leadership posts.  It had previously been announced that Senate President Steve Sweeney would be joined by Senator Teresa Ruiz as Senate Majority and that the Senate Minority Leader will be Senator Steve Oroho.  The Assembly Minority leadership spot is up in the air possibly between Nancy Munoz, John DiMaio and Brian Bergen.

Following were the most hotly contested races:

Although not competitive races, the following changes will also take place in the NJ Legislature: 

Voters also split on two state-wide ballot questions.  One to permit wagering, through casinos and current or former horse racetracks, on all college sport or athletic events which lost by a 43 to 57% margin.  The other question to permit all groups that are allowed to conduct bingo or raffles to use the net proceeds from those games to support their groups was approved by a 64 to 36% margin. 

There were several local races of note, including Jersey City Mayor Steve Fulop who won a third term against political newcomer Lewis Spears.   Atlantic City Mayor Marty Small, Sr. defeated Republican Thomas Forkin, a former Atlantic City Democratic municipal chairman. Edison Councilman Sam Joshi defeated Republican Keith Hahn, a former Democratic municipal chairman and Edison police officer.

At the county level, Republicans picked up County Commissioner seats in Atlantic, Gloucester and Somerset Counties.  The Democrats won a surrogate seat in Burlington County and retained full control of all county seats in Bergen County.